Dalgety Bay is just outside of Edinburgh; across the water from it, actually. There is a quite famous bridge there that is on one of the one-pound coins. I will show it to you…

But first – train ride!

Ah sheepy hills.

Ah sheepy hills.

 We took the train to Edinburgh before continuing on by car. It is nearing Christmas, and BY GOD if I thought Edinburgh was busy last time I was there…
Yeah, whew, the place was mobbed*. But we didn’t stay there long. We just popped into this one domey building to wait for our ride and maybe have a drink (we didn’t, thanks to the massive queue). It was quite the place. Edinburgh sure knows how to do Christmas.

*New British word usage: means ‘very very busy’.

And it smelled like cinnamon.

And it smelled like cinnamon.

 

ooo. Sparklez.

ooo. Sparklez.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By the time we got there, it was dark, surprise surprise, so naturally my next photo is of dawn I was quite determined not to waste that day.

 

 

Sun on Suburbs

Sun on Suburbs

The area had lots of good walking, and even a beach or two!

That pointy thing is some sort of WWII communication device

That pointy thing is some sort of WWII communication device.

 

This was also a remnant from WWII. It had a turny gun-thing.

This was also a remnant from WWII. It had a turny gun-thing.

[moss]A ways down the beach, and you come to this old Kirk. We could go inside and everything, up to the second floor and into the main hall area below. There was also a really cute cemetery around it (yes, I can call a cemetery cute) whose gravestones often had the peculiar fashion of almost cartoony skull-and-crossbones decorating them. 

 

 

 

 

A Kirk.

The Kirk.

And from the side...

And from the side...

 

Now tell me that's not just the sort of skull you would expect to find in a Flash video, eh?

Now tell me that's not just the sort of skull you would expect to find in a Flash video, eh?

 

 

 

 

Inside the Kirk.

Inside the Kirk.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hello!

Hello!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And out we go again.

And out we go again.

On a completely different note, the last day of school was yesterday.
People have already started to leave and I’m pretty sure the time from here until Thursday (my date of departure) will be one big goodbye party/photo-taking fest, so I’m likely to be pretty busy. Also, I’ve got to get my Christmas presents and cards together and pack my stuff and get my files from school. Oh my.
I don’t really want to leave.
Wait, scratch that.
I really don’t want to leave!
It’s been so good here… and I can’t really bring any home with me. After I go, there will be nobody in my physical vicinity that I can reminisce with about my stay or talk to about how different/the same it was. This makes me sad. I hope when I get home that there will still be some sense of permanence; that I don’t feel like I just dreamt it all.